Agricultural Commission

Section 1

There is hereby established an Agricultural Commission which shall consist of five members and five alternates appointed by the Select Board, all of whom shall be residents of the Town of Rutland.

The Commission will consist of a minimum of three members who are actively engaged in agriculture in Rutland and another two who are interested in farming. Two members for a term of three years; two members for a term of two years and three thereafter; and one member for a one-year term, and three thereafter. Alternate members shall be appointed for a one-year term.

The appointing authority shall fill a vacancy based on the unexpired term of the vacancy in order to maintain the staggered cycle of appointments with the assistance of recommendations made by the Commission.

Said Commission shall choose its officers who shall be a Chairman, Vice Chairman, and Clerk. The Clerk shall be responsible to keep and file minutes of all meetings in accordance with state statute.

Section 2

Said Commission once appointed shall develop a work plan to guide its activities. Such activities include, but are not limited, to the following: shall serve as facilitators for encouraging the pursuit of agriculture in Rutland, shall promote agricultural-based economic opportunities in Rutland, shall act as mediators, advocates, educators, and/or negotiators on farming issues; shall work for preservation of prime agricultural lands, shall pursue all initiatives appropriate to creating a sustainable agricultural community and preserving the rural character of Rutland.